25 Mar 2011

The UK has recently nominated a number of sites for UNESCO World Heritage status for 2012. Some of the nominated sites include:

- Chatham Dockyard and its defences, Kent
- Creswell Crags, Derbyshire/Nottinghamshire
- Lake District, Cumbria
- Jodrell Bank Observatory, Cheshire
- Mousa, Old Scatness and Jarlshof, Shetland, Scotland
- Slate industry of North Wales
- The Flow Country, Scotland
- The Forth Bridge (Rail), Scotland

The variety of different structures and environments highlights the importance of looking beyond when something was built or by who and to consider 'heritage' from a wider perspective and at a variety of spatial scales.

In order to be listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the sites must be of outstanding universal value and meet at least one out of ten selection criteria ranging from a requirement 'to represent a masterpiece of human creative genius' to bearing 'a unique or at least exceptional testimony to a cultural tradition or to a civilization which is living or which has disappeared'.

The World Heritage list currently includes 911 properties composed of 704 cultural, 180 natural, and 27 mixed properties. Check out the interactive map for a complete list of the properties.
Categories: , ,